Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

SACD Review

Cervantes - Don Quixote de la Mancha

Romances y Musicas

  • Alonso de Mudarra:
  • Galliard 1
  • Romanesca 1
  • Tres libros de musica en cifras: Pavana and galliard de Alexandra 1
  • Tres libros de musica en cifras: Conde claros en doze maneras 1
  • Tres libros de musica en cifras: Pavana II de Alexandra 1
  • Antonio De Cabezón: Diferencias sobre "Las Vacas" 4
  • Antonio de Ribera: Suelen las fuerzas de amor 7,8
  • Diego Pisador: Al campo sale Narváez 2,7,8
  • Du Bailly: Yo soy la locura 2,7,8
  • Enríquez de Valderrábano: Gallarda 1
  • Francisco de Peñalosa: Santa amistad que con ligeras alas 7,8
  • Francisco Salinas: Media noche era por filo 2,7,8
  • Gabriel Mena: De la dulce mi enmiga 7,8
  • Gabriel: Canción para Olalla 8
  • Juan Vasquez: Los Doce Pares y Roncesvalles 7,8
  • Luis de Milan: Libro de música de vihuela de mano intitulado El maestro
  • Con pavor recordó el moro 2,7,8
  • Sospirastes Baldovinos 7,8
  • Luis de Narváez: Diferencias sobre "Guárdame las vacas" 5
  • Xavier Díaz-Latorre: Conde Claros 5
  • Anonymous:
  • Adoramus te Domine 3
  • De tu vista celoso 2,7,8
  • Fanfare 8
  • Mala la hubistes franceses 7,8
  • Marinero soy de amor 7,8
  • Nunca fuera caballero de damas tan bien servido 2,7,8
  • Oh tú que estás en tu lecho 6
  • Si d'amor pena sentis 7,8
  • Sobre el coraçon difunto 2,7,8
1 Andrew Lawrence-King, harp
2 Montserrat Figueras, soprano
3 Carlos García-Bernalt, harpsichord & organ
4 Michael Behringer, harpsichord & clavicembalo
5 Xavier Díaz-Latorre, vihuela
6 Arianna Savall, voice & harp
7 La Capella Reial de Catalunya
8 Hespèrion XXI/Jordi Savall
AliaVox AVSA9843 2SACDs 152m DDD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from ArkivMusic.comFind it at CD Universe Find it at JPC

For the past few years, AliaVox has regaled us with some magnificent albums, all painstakingly researched, excitingly performed and lavishly presented, but this latest release is certainly the most amazing project to date. This imaginative enterprise has been two years in the making and it and it is only fitting that its release has been timed for this year, the 400th anniversary of Cervantes' masterpiece.

Apart from Savall's immaculate music making, he also brings to light a remarkable revelation in that many of the phrases uttered by selected characters in 'Don Quixote' are not original creations, but were borrowed from popular songs heard in the author's times. After an arduous labour of love Savall succeeded in tracing the original pieces alluded to in the novel, and by including extracts from Cervantes' text read by a Spanish actor to alternate with the songs, he has created a unique musical experience which takes the listener back to the Spain of 1605.

The album also includes a number of instrumental period pieces and concludes with a work worthy of the Don's destiny; 'Pie Jesu Domine' from Morales' Requiem. The presentation, in the form of a hardback book with a matte laminate finish is a 272-page, sumptuous document of exquisite beauty, with a seven-language text brimming with precious information on the research process and the music itself. Sound quality is absolutely astounding. In all honesty, I cannot recommend this set too strongly; a riveting release overflowing with visual and aural riches.

Copyright © 2006, Gerald Fenech