Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review


A 1920's Anthology of Song

  • Franz Schubert:
  • Totengräbers Heimweh
  • Der Jüngling an der Quelle
  • Fischerweise
  • Peter Warlock:
  • As ever I saw
  • Take o take those lips away
  • Milkmaids
  • The Distracted Maid
  • O Mistress Mine
  • Captain Stratton's Fancy
  • Oh good Ale
  • Ernst Moeran:
  • Sheep Shearing
  • Dream of Death
  • Bernard van Dieren: Der Asra
  • Rebecca Clarke: June Twilight
  • Robert Franz: Aus meinen grossen Schmerzen
  • John Danyel: I die whenas I do not see her
  • Michael Cavendish: Down in a Valley
  • Philip Rosseter: What then is love but mourning
  • Wolfgang Mozart: Abendempfindung
  • Anonymous:
  • Agincourt Song
  • The Three Ravens
  • Here's a Health to His Majesty
  • L'amour de moi
  • Barbara Allen
  • Billy Boy
  • Shenandoah
  • Blow ye Winds, Heigh-Ho
  • Hullaballoo Ballay
Giles Davis, baritone
Steven Divine, piano
The Goss Male Quartet
Divine Art DDA25048 76m DDD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from ArkivMusic.comFind it at CD Universe

John Goss (1891-1953) was one of the most important British musicians and colourful personalities of the inter-war era. Singer, scholar and a lover of life, he was adulated by the composer's whose music he championed, including Warlock, Delius and Moeran. Goss was also responsible for the revival of the British Ballad in the 1920's and together with Warlock, was the driving force in resurrecting the English Jacobean and Elizabethan Lute Song Repertoire. He was a great entertainer and an innate musician and performer.

This CD is a celebration and dedication to this wonderfully talented character and the items chosen are perhaps many that Goss himself might have included in his recitals. The 28 tracks include Early English Ballads, Elizabethan Songs, Lieder by Mozart and Schubert, English Songs (mainly by Warlock) and Traditional Ballads and Sea Songs.

For Giles Davis, this is obviously a labour of love and he manages to squeeze out all the emotional and musical expressiveness of the repertoire in question. Stephen Devine and the Goss Male Quartet lend sympathetic support throughout. This is certainly a fitting tribute to one of Britain's most lovable yet astoundingly neglected artists.

Copyright © 2008 by Gerald Fenech