Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review

Robert Farnon

The Music of Victor Schertzinger,
Hoagy Carmicheal & Vincent Youmans

  • Victor Schertzinger Suite:
  • The Fleet's In
  • Dream Lover
  • Sand In My Shoes
  • Marcheta
  • One Night Of Love
  • Kiss The Boys Goodbye
  • Love Passes By
  • Tangerine
  • Hoagy Carmichael Suite:
  • My Resistance Is Low
  • Stardust
  • Little Old Lady
  • Georgia On My Mind
  • One Morning In May
  • Lazy Bones
  • Music Of Vincent Youmans:
  • Hallelujah
  • Tea For Two
  • Sometimes I'm Happy
  • Without A Song
  • Great Day
  • Orchids In The Moonlight
  • More Than You Know
  • Time On My Hands
  • The Carioca
Robert Farnon and his Orchestra
Dutton Vocalion CDLK4137 70m ADD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon Japan

These three suites have Robert Farnon and his top-notch band of players on swaggering form. All those immortal melodies that were all the rage in the early decades of the American musical industry are uncannily brought to life especially with the choral numbers adding added spice.

The free and catchy melodies of Schertzinger, Carmichael and Youmans are obviously meat and drink to Farnon and his players who impart most of the numbers with their inimitable verve. Listening to 'Marcheta', 'Little Old Lady', Georgia on My Mind' and the sentimental 'Sometimes I'm Happy' is also like tuning in to a bygone age where only the radio ghosts inhabit the rooms and streets.

The original LPs were recorded way back in 1953 and 1951 (Youmans) but the Decca sound is as fresh and invigorating as one would expect, especially in Dutton's splendid transfers. David Ades has compiled the collection with his usual audacity and he also writes entertaining and informative biographies on all the musicians and composers concerned. Another essential Robert Farnon compilation from Dutton that is required listening for all light music buffs.

Copyright © 2002, Gerald Fenech