Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review

The English Hymn – Volume 4

All things bright and beautiful

  • William Henry Monk: All things bright and beautiful
  • William Horsley: There is a green hill far away
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams: English Hymnal #9 "He who would valiant be"
  • Charles Crozat Converse: What a Friend We Have in Jesus
  • Melchoir Teschner: All glory, laud and honor
  • William J. Kirkpatrick: Away in a manger
  • Arthur Sullivan: Onward! Christian Soldiers
  • Frederick A. Challinor: Stories of Jesus
  • Kenneth G. Finlay: Glenfinlas
  • Justin Heinrich Knecht: Vienna
  • John Stainer: In memoriam
  • Leighton George Hayne: Buckland
  • Thomas Jackson: Jackson
  • Martin Shaw: Westridge
  • Charles Hubert Parry: Judith "Repton"
  • Traditional:
  • Shipston
  • Quem pastores laudavere
  • Little Jesus sweetly sleep
  • Morning has broken
  • When a knight
  • Lord of the Dance
  • From out of a wood
  • Anonymous:
  • Innocents
  • Geistreiches Gesangbuch - Gott sei Dank in aller Welt
Rupert Gough, organ
The Choir of Wells Cathedral/Malcolm Archer
Hyperion CDP12104 66M DDD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from

This is the fourth release in Hyperion's laudable "English Hymn" series and this time, the concentration is on the world of children.

The twenty-odd hymns are all stalwarts of the repertoire and when you listen to these stirring performances by the Choir of Wells Cathedral, the music really takes on a nostalgic turn.

This is a disc that gives delight to anyone who can smile as the "Songs of Praise" style will most definitely bring goose bumps to the flesh.

I haven't got much more to say except that all self-confessed choral enthusiasts should rush to the shops and purchase this without delay. I would assume that the other three volumes would also be in their collections!

Copyright © 2003, Gerald Fenech