Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review


Works & Transcriptions for Cello and Piano

  • Erich Wolfgang Korngold:
  • Mummenschantz (Hornpipe) (from "Much Ado About Nothing", Op. 11)
  • Romance Impromptu in E Flat Major, Op. posth
  • Percy Grainger: The Sussex Mummers' Christmas Carol
  • Jean Sibelius:
  • Rondino (from Five Pieces, Op. 81)
  • Berceuse (#6 of Six Pieces, Op. 79)
  • Leopold Godowsky: Larghetto Lamentoso (from Twelve Impressions)
  • Joseph Jongen:
  • Valse
  • Habanera, Op. 86
  • Xavier Montsalvatge: Canto Negro (from Cinco Canciones Negras) (arr Lidström)
  • Ernesto Halffter: Habanera (arr Maurice Gendron)
  • Ernest John Moeran: Prélude
  • Fritz Kreisler: Liebesleid (arr Rachmaninoff/Lidström)
  • Alexander Scriabin:
  • Poème in F Sharp Major, Op. 32 #1 (arr Lidström)
  • Romance in A minor
  • Bohuslav Martinů: Arabesque #1 (from 7 Arabesques)
  • Paul Tortelier: Pishnetto (Recital Étude #5)
  • Jakob Adolf Hägg:
  • Andante
  • Albumblatt
  • Lennox Berkeley: Andantino, Op. 21 #2a
  • Mats Lidström: The Sea of Flowers is Rising Higher (Elegy for solo cello)
  • Jean-Philippe Rameau: Air vif: "Torture d'Alphise" (from Les Boréades, Act 4) (arr Lidström)
  • François Lucas Tille: Courante (from Le Tombeau de Rameau)
  • Jacques Offenbach: Souvenir du Val (Romance) Op. 29 #1
  • Gabriel Fauré: Pièce pour violoncelle (Papillon), Op. 77
  • Wilhelm Stenhammar: Adagio (#5 of Five Songs, Op. 20) (arr Mats Lidström)
Mats Lidstrom, cello
Bengt Forsberg, piano
Hyperion CDA67184 64m DDD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from ArkivMusic.comFind it at CD Universe

The art of the salon piece is well represented in this collection of short pieces that includes over and hour of works by a huge variety of composers. Most of the pieces on offer have rarely been heard or recorded but there is an intrinsic collection of melodies and tunes that will surely please many an ear.

Sibelius is well represented by his delightful Berceuse and Rondino whilst other composers such as Haag and Tortelier make what appears to be one of their first excursions on recorded medium. I could go on and on signaling this and that composer for excellence and also for variety but there are so many that I would be lost for words! Lidstrom and Forsberg play each and every piece with wholehearted commitment, indeed the panache they bring to such pieces as Offenbach's "Souvenir du Val" and Kreisler's "Liebeslied" is extremely satisfying.

Notes are copious and well detailed and the whole project is a very well-planned and executed one. Highly recommended to lovers of rare cello repertoire.

Copyright © 2001, Gerald Fenech