Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

DVD Review

2009 New Year's Concert from Vienna

  • Johann Strauss Jr.:
  • Eine Nacht in Venedig: Overture
  • Märchen aus dem Orient, Op. 444
  • Annen-Polka, Op. 117
  • Schnellpost-Polka, Op. 159
  • Das Spitzentuch der Königin: Rosen aus dem Süden Waltzes, Op. 388
  • Freikugeln, Op. 326
  • Alexandrinen-Polka, Op. 198
  • Unter Donner und Blitz, Op. 324
  • Eljen a Magyar, Op. 332
  • Eine Nacht in Venedig: So ängstlich sind wir nicht Polka, Op. 413
  • An der schönen, blauen Donau, Op. 314
  • Schatz-Walzer, Op. 418
  • Der Zigeunerbaron:
  • Overture
  • Einzugs-Marsch
  • Johann Strauss Sr.:
  • Zampa-Galop, Op. 62a
  • Radetzky March, Op. 228
  • Josef Strauss: Sphären-Klänge, Op. 235
  • J. "Pepi" Hellmesberger: Valse espagnol
  • Franz Joseph Haydn: Symphony #45 in F sharp minor "Farewell": 4th movement, Presto-Adagio
The Ballet Corps of the Vienna State Opera
Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra/Daniel Barenboim
Decca DVD 0743317 150m
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon Japan
Also available on Blu-ray: Amazon - UK - Germany - Canada - France - Japan - ArkivMusic - CD Universe
Also available on 2CDs 47811336: Amazon - UK - Germany - Canada - France - Japan - ArkivMusic - CD Universe

Although Daniel Barenboim's career, both as performer and conductor, has been a glittering one, there was always the feeling that he could still achieve the ultimate on both fronts, particularly podium wise. His taking charge of this year's New Year's Day concert is certainly his high point where conducting is concerned and the occasion was certainly one to cherish.

Apart from the perennial "Blue Danube" and "Radetzky March", the concert embraces 19 other pieces including among other six New Year's Day Concert premières with Maestro Barenboim and the VPO managing to generate an atmosphere of irresistible delight and joyous fun. The idea of launching Haydn's bi-centenary year with the Finale of the "Farewell Symphony" towards the end of the concert was also a popular idea which went down well with audiences both in the Musikverein and worldwide.

This superb DVD captures all the opulence and excitement of this unique event with breathtaking reality, and the infectious sounds emanating from the players seem to linger on long after the champagne has fizzled out. The set also includes special bonus features on the dance sequences, a musical tour of the house of Joseph Haydn and a host of spectacular Austrian landscapes. Truly a glorious experience, overflowing with instances of supreme beauty. Some state of the art sonic and visuals complete a must buy full of rapturous and sparkling tunes.

Copyright © 2009, Gerald Fenech