Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review

New Year's Day Concert 2008

  • Johann Strauss Jr.:
  • An der schönen, blauen Donau, Op. 314
  • Bluette-Polka, Op. 271
  • Die Pariserin, Op. 238
  • Freut euch des Lebens, Op. 340
  • Indigo und die vierzig Räuber: Die Bajadere, Op. 351
  • Kaiser-Walzer, Op. 437
  • Napoleon-Marsch, Op. 156
  • Orpheus-Quadrille, Op. 236
  • Russicher Marsch, Op. 426
  • Tritsch-Tratsch-Polka, Op. 214
  • Overture "Indigo und die vierzig Räuber"
  • Johann Strauss Sr.:
  • Radetzky March, Op. 228
  • Chineser Galop, Op. 20
  • Paris, Op. 101
  • Versailler Galopp, Op. 107
  • Josef Strauss:
  • Die Libelle, Op. 204
  • Dorfschwalben aus Österreich, Op. 164
  • Laxenburger-Polka, Op. 60
  • Sport, Op. 170
  • Josef Lanner: Hoffballtänze, Op. 161
  • J. "Pepi" Hellmesberger: Kleiner Anzeiger, Op. 4
Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra/Georges Prêtre
Decca 478003-4 2CDs 105m DDD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from ArkivMusic.comFind it at CD Universe
Also released on DVD: Amazon - UK - Germany - Canada - France - Japan

Having watched, like so many millions worldwide, this year's "New Year Concert" from Vienna, I was left with plenty of conviction that this edition was one of the best ever for many reasons.

With the choice of conductor falling on the octogenarian French maestro Georges Prêtre, this sparkling event was not only conducted for the first time by a French baton, but also crowned Prêtre's 45-year association with the Vienna Philharmonic.

The programme was indeed bubbling with a Gallic flavour from beginning to end, and apart from the usual pieces, Maestro Prêtre regaled us with no fewer than six premières, which added considerably to the festive nature of the occasion.

This splendid 2-CD set captures the 'joie de vivre' of this unique yearly bonanza in gorgeous sound quality and the infectious interpretations come through as fresh and bouncy as a clear spring morning.

This is an album which is bound to inject joy and happiness even when we seem to feel amiss in our daily goings on. I will certainly go back to it as often as the situation warrants.

Copyright © 2008, Gerald Fenech