Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review

In the Streets and Theatres of London

Elizabethan Ballads and Theatre Music

  • Edmund Kete: Barrow Faustus dreame
  • Robert Johnson:
  • Care-charming sleep
  • Away delights
  • John Johnson:
  • Short Almain
  • Passamezzo moderno
  • Green garters
  • Greensleeves
  • Filippo Azzaiolo: Chi passa per 'sta strada
  • Clement Woodcock:
  • Browning my dere
  • Hackney
  • Thomas Campion: What if a day
  • Anonymous:
  • Nuttmigs and Ginger
  • Mother Watkins Ale
  • Stingo
  • Paddington's Pound
  • Bony sweet boy
  • Wilsons Wilde
  • Robin is to the Greenwood gone
  • Fortune my Foe
  • Bonny sweet Robin
  • Guillims Dumpe
  • O Deathe, rock me a sleepe
  • My Lord Willoughbies
  • Welcome Home
  • Grimstock
The Musicians of Swanne Alley
With Red Byrd
Virgin Veritas 482079-2 138m DDD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon Japan

The Elizabethan period was an era rich in musical and religious turmoil and produced such giants as William Byrd, John Dowland and other lesser known figures such as William Lawes and Anthony Holborne. This traversal through some of the bawdy ballads and tunes that filled London's thronged streets together with a traversal through Thomas Morley's music is a timely reminder of the variety on offer in those far off times.

There is little to add to The Musicians of Swanne Alley's versatility that is a constant presence in the ballds, tunes and songs that make up this well filled compilation. Reviewers praised the original issue on Virgin to high heaven and I will heartily concur as this time the collection is even more attractive at the bottom line Veritas price. In short, highly recommended to all those who love this type of music.

Copyright © 2005, Gerald Fenech