Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review


  • Andrea Falconieri:
  • Ciaccona
  • Primo libro di canzone
  • Anonymous: Greensleeve to a Ground
  • Antonio Valente: Intavolatura di Cimbalo
  • Biagio Marini: Passacaglia à 4
  • Diego Ortiz:
  • Quinta pars IX
  • Ricercada II
  • Ricercada V
  • Ricercada VII
  • Henry Purcell:
  • Fantasia upon a Ground
  • Sonata in Four Parts
  • Johann Pachelbel: Canon and Gigue in D
  • Salamone Rossi: Sonata sopra l'Aria di Ruggiero
  • Tarquinio Merula:
  • Ciaccona
  • Ruggiero
  • Traditional: Canarios
  • Francisco Correa de Arauxo: Tres Glosas sobre 'Todo el mundo en general'
Hespèrion XXI/Jordi Savall
AliaVox AV9820 73m DDD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from ArkivMusic.comFind it at CD Universe

Jordi Savall continues to astonish and delight with another release of a variety of music from the early baroque era. 'Ostinato' brings together various composers of fame such as Purcell and Ortiz but we also have some intriguing items from Merula and Valente, both composers of seminal importance in the days of Italian musical glory. Purcell's Sonata and famous 3 Parts upon a Ground are beautifully interpreted with the latter particularly characterful and energetic, especially with Pedro Estevan's brilliant percussion.

I have recently listened to Biagio Marini's lovely music on a Chandos CD but these musicians have this music in their blood, this is a glorious Passacaglia. The "Greensleeves to a Ground" Variations are another crucial discovery, brilliantly interpreted by Hespèrion XXI.

All the items that follow are superbly recorded and wonderfully played with the usual lavish packaging and notes that are part and parcel of AliaVox's releases. Wholeheartedly recommended to lovers of this epoch of music.

Copyright © 2002, Gerald Fenech