Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review

Plum Pudding

  • Benjamin Britten: Canticle IV, Op. 86 "The Journey of the Magi"
  • E.V. Lucas: Christmas Decorations
  • Francisco Guerrero: Virgen sancta
  • Franz Xaver Gruber: Silent Night
  • John Clare: December
  • Laurie Lee: Christmas In Seville (Excerpt)
  • Leonard Clark: Singing In The Streets
  • Max Reger: Schlaf, mein Kindelein
  • Peter Cornelius: The Three Kings
  • Peter Maxwell Davies: O magnum mysterium
  • Rhian Samuel: Jolly Wat The Shepherd
  • Samuel Barber: Twelfth Night Song
  • Tomás Luis da Victoria: O Magnum Mysterium
  • William Byrd: Psalmes, Songs and Sonnets…fit for Voyces or Viols: This day Christ was born
  • Traditional:
  • Deck the hall
  • Esta noche nace un nino
  • God's Speech (From The Waterfield Plays)
  • I sing of a maiden
  • Lully, lulla, thow littel tyne child "Coventry Carol"
  • Memories Of Christmas
  • The Holly and the Ivy
  • The Twelve Days of Christmas
  • Wassail Song
  • Christmas Truce (A Letter)
Dame Felicity Lott, soprano
Joyful Company of Singers/Peter Broadbent
Academy Sound & Vision White Line CDWHL2150 78m DDD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from ArkivMusic.comFind it at CD Universe

Dame Felicity Lott provides a splendidly traditional recipe of glorious music to accompany the mouth watering pudding on the front cover of this disc! Seriously speaking this is a loving collection of firm favourites, long forgotten rarities and a mixture of both sung with wonderful verve and élan by the great soprano.

The twenty four pieces provided here are too numerous to discuss in their entirety but there is definitely something for everyone. The Joyful Company of singers under the fair hand of Peter Broadbent sing with conviction and obvious enjoyment whilst the copious notes on each and every piece married with a warm and entirely natural recording make this disc hard to resist. A winner through and through!

Copyright © 2003, Gerald Fenech