Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

SACD Review

Esa Noche Yo Baílá

Feast and Devotion in High Peru of the 17th Century

  • Clemente Imana: Filis yo tengo
  • Francisco Guerau: Villano
  • José Marín:
  • Desengañémonos ya
  • No piense Menguilla
  • Ojos pues me desdeñáis
  • Tortolilla si no es por amor
  • Juan Cabanilles:
  • Tiento XIII de dos tiples y dos baixos
  • Tiento XXIV de falsas
  • Pedro Ximénez: Caballero de armas blancas
  • Santiago de Murcia:
  • La jotta
  • Marizápalos (1714)
  • Tomás de Herrera: Hijos de Eva tributarios
  • Bolivian anonymous: Esa noche yo bailá
  • Peruvian anonymous:
  • Cachua al nacimiento de Christo Nuestro Señor
  • María, todo es María
  • Tonada la donosa
  • Tonada la lata
  • Zapateo
  • Spanish anonymous:
  • Don Pedro a quien los crueles
  • Entrada de clarín antes de tocar canciones
  • Pasacalles de primer tono I
Músíca Fícta
Arts 47727-8 Hybrid Multichannel SACD 69m DDD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from ArkivMusic.comFind it at CD Universe

The title of this exciting issue might be misleading as the musical content has nothing to do with the sacred; on the contrary in fact, it is a mouth-watering recipe of secular sounds that find their origins in the musical heritage of two continents.

When the 'Conquistadores' from Spain and Portugal started to invade the countries of the 'New World', the social and cultural wheel of the latter began to turn bit by bit and by the 17th century, much that was Hispanic had merged itself into the tradition of the 'Indios'.

The Baroque style proved an ideal medium to express the inner sentiments and emotions of the many peoples of Latin America, and this phenomenon of the Iberian-American Baroque still hides many secrets to this day.

This album sets out to unravel some of these by projecting such seemingly unrelated elements as dance (feast) and lament (devotion), women and religion. The programme includes 20 tracks, mostly by Spanish composers, but the anonymous pieces from the same Spain, Bolivia and Peru are, to say the least, intriguing.

The music for the most part is relaxing and sedate, so one should be more inclined towards a spirit of discovery rather than anticipating a feast. The Musica Ficta is a Colombian ensemble which came together in 1988, so as expected; their performances are not only first rate but also in complete empathy with this very special musical domain.

The delicate sound quality coupled with some top-notch annotations make this disc a top proposition, particularly for those who have an appetite for the unusual.

Copyright © 2007, Gerald Fenech