Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review

Violin Songs

  • Aaron Copland: Nocturne
  • Alban Berg: 7 Early Songs, #3 "Die Nachtigall"
  • Edward Elgar:
  • Salut d'amour, Op. 12 "Liebesgrüss"
  • Chanson de matin, Op. 15 #2
  • Chanson de nuit, Op. 15 #1
  • Francis Poulenc: Fiançailles pour rire: "Violon"
  • Frank Bridge:
  • Amaryllis, H59
  • Berceuse, H 9
  • Mélodie, H 99
  • Morceau caracteristique
  • Moto perpetuo, H 4c
  • Romanze, H 45
  • Spring Song, H 157
  • Franz Schubert: Ellens Gesang III, D 839/Op. 52 #6 "Ave Maria"
  • Jules Massenet: Thaïs: "L'amour est une vertu rare"
  • Lili Boulanger: Nocturne (1911)
  • Maurice Ravel: Berceuse sur le nom de Fauré
  • Richard Strauss: Lied, Op. 27 #4 "Morgen"
  • Serge Prokofieff: 5 Melodies, Op. 35b
Madeleine Mitchell, violin
Andrew Ball, piano
* Elizabeth Watts, soprano
Divine Art DDA25063 77m DDD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from ArkivMusic.comFind it at CD Universe

I have had the honour to meet Madeleine Mitchell on the wonderful occasions when she chose to visit Malta and was more than thrilled by her wonderful performances. So when this disc popped up in the post for review, I was indeed more than happy to take on the challenge as most of the works were rather new to me.

Listening to this CD is a delight from start to finish. The title is more than apt as throughout each carefully prepared piece, Mitchell's violin truly sings and creates that calming and soothing effect which makes one forget all worldly troubles.

There are quite a number of pieces by Frank Bridge which were interesting discoveries for me apart from the familiar curtain calls by Elgar and a wonderful transcription of Schubert's Ave Maria, all played with utmost care and affection by this splendid violinist.

Copland, Ravel, Berg and Prokofieff also make an appearance demonstrating Mitchell's fondness for modern music and this is well documented in the lovely booklet which is almost worth the price of the CD alone. Mitchell herself wrote the notes which make fascinating reading. Truly a CD to cherish and treasure, keep it for a cold evening tucked away by the fireplace and just let it sink in. Utterly magical!

Copyright © 2008, Gerald Fenech