Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review

Robert Farnon

Two Cigarettes in the Dark & Pictures in the Fire

  • Two Cigarettes In The Dark
  • Cocktails For Two
  • Touch Of Your Lips
  • Where Or When
  • By Candlelight
  • Very Thought Of You
  • Isn't It Romantic
  • I'm In The Mood
  • Way You Look Tonight
  • Moonlight Becomes You
  • Door Will Open
  • Love Walked In
  • Come Dance With Me
  • Pictures In The Fire
  • Love Is A Many Splendoured Thing
  • To A Young Lady
  • Hey There
  • Secret Love
  • Lazy Day
  • Friendly Persuasion
  • Sophisticated Waltz
  • When I Fall In Love
  • Summer Love
  • Story Of Tina
  • Nearness Of You
Robert Farnon and his Orchestra
Dutton Vocalion CDLK4112 78m ADD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from

This is the fourth issue from Vocalion with music by or interpreted by Robert Farnon and his orchestra, a heyday of the light music stable from the 1950's. This time we have the famous 'Two Cigarettes in the Dark' LP and the less familiar 'Pictures in the Fire', the latter is no less memorable than the more popular first album.

Tunes by Rodgers and Hart dominate proceedings with the legendary 'Where or When' and 'Isn't it Romantic' in company with Kern and Gerswhin showpieces such as 'The Way you look Tonight' and 'Love Walked In'. All are given lush romantic treatment by Farnon and his orchestra which, if not as opulent as Mantovani, is certainly very 'period'.

'Pictures in the Fire' includes three original Farnon tracks apart from the title single, these are: 'Lazy Day and 'Sophistication Waltz' together with the sentimental 'Summer Love'. These contain the touch of the master but his interpretations of Young's, 'When I Fall in Love', Adler's 'Hey There' and the ubiquitous 'Story of Tina' are also as good as it gets.

Dutton's remastering brings out the original colour and sweet string sound and David Ades' contribution is an entertaining read altogether. I cannot recommend this album too highly, especially if you enjoy the vintage 50's period which was such a success for light music re-incarnation.

Copyright © 2001, Gerald Fenech