Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review

Franz Schubert

"The Wanderer" - Lieder & Fragments

  • Der Wanderer, D. 649/Op. 65 #2
  • Viola, D. 786/Op. 123
  • Pilgerweise, D. 789
  • An die Musik, D. 547
  • Der liebliche Stern, D. 861
  • Im Jänner 1817, D. 876 "Tiefes Leid"
  • Auf der Bruck, D. 853
  • Fülle der Liebe, D. 854
  • Wiedersehen, D. 855
  • Vom Mitleiden Mariä, D. 632
  • Im Walde, D. 708 "Waldesnacht"
  • Der Schmetterling, D. 633/Op. 57 #1
  • Gesänge des Harfners #1, D. 478
  • Gesänge des Harfners #2, D. 480
  • Gesänge des Harfners #3, D. 479
  • Die Sterne, D. 939/Op. 96 #1
  • Der Winterabend, D. 938
  • Der Unglückliche, D. 713
  • Totengräbers Heimwehe, D. 842
  • Auf dem Strom, D. 943/Op. 119
  • Ständchen, D. 889
  • Lachen und Weinen, D. 777/Op. 59 #4
  • An die Laute, D. 905/Op. 81 #2
  • Der Tod und das Mädchen, D. 531/Op. 7 #3
  • Pflicht und Liebe, D. 467
  • Allegretto for Piano in C minor, D. 900 [fragment]
  • Lebensmut, in B Flat Major D 937 [fragment]
  • Allegretto for Piano in C Major, D. 346 [fragment]
  • Johanna Sebus, D. 728 [fragment]
  • Andantino for Piano in C Major, D. 348 [fragment]
  • Abschied, D. 829
Ian Bostridge, tenor
Leif Ove Andsnes, piano
EMI Classics 516443-2 2CDs 119m DDD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from ArkivMusic.comFind it at CD Universe

This is Ian Bostridge at his very level best singing his beloved Schubert with great distinction and impressive alacrity. He is accompanied by the indefatigable Leif Ove Andsnes who is another great exponent of Schubert's music especially in those quit piano parts which are so unbelievably expressive and ravishingly beautiful.

There are several songs which touch the heart almost immediately, most notably "Der wanderer", "An die Musik" and the ravishing "Im Walde", all full of that incredible longing which is so typical of Schubert. "Gesänge des Hafners" is another rather overlooked work which is here brought quite magnificently to life by the Bostridge/Andsnes partnership.

The second disc contains works that are perhaps not so famous such as "An die laute", "Lebensmut" and a smattering of unfinished Allegrettos which sound well enough just the same. But it would b rather nitpicking if one had to discuss each and every individual song as the music is there t be heard in all its glorious entirety. One small snag is the thickness of the booklet that makes it difficult to extract it from the CD case without damaging it. Otherwise, the double album is a thorough feast for the ears.

Copyright © 2008 by Gerald Fenech