Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review

Fritz Busch Conducts

Recorded 1946 & 1949

  • Felix Mendelssohn: 1
  • Overture "Das Märchen von der schönen Melusine", Op. 32
  • Scherzo from Octet in E Flat Major, Op. 20
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Overture "Egmont", Op. 84 2
  • Franz Schubert: Dance Suite (arr. Fritz Busch) 2
  • Polonaise, D. 599 #4 (Op. 75)
  • Ecossaisen D. 145 #1-6
  • Trio "zu betrachten als verlorener Sohn eines Menuetts", D. 610
  • Valses nobles, D. 969 (Op. 77)
  • Richard Wagner: 2
  • Prelude & Isolde's Liebestod from Tristan und Isolde
  • Prelude & Interlude from Act III of Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg
  • Hugo Alfvén: Swedish Rhapsody #1 "Midsommarvaka", Op. 19 3
1 Winterthur Symphony Orchestra/Fritz Busch
2 Philharmonic Orchestra of Los Angeles/Fritz Busch
3 Stiftelsens Concerthouse Orchestra Malmö/Fritz Busch
Guild GHCD2366 79m ADD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from Find it at JPC

Guild continues apace with their fine series of reissues dedicated to the underrated Fritz Busch now espousing a brilliant collection of orchestral pieces from the U.S. and Sweden in post-war performances of the highest caliber.

The Mendelssohn works are dapper and direct with the Overture "Fair Melusine" particularly appealing and recalling Schuricht's equally brilliant Decca version. I also greatly enjoyed the "Egmont" Overture with its thrilling final coda and the Wagner items are heart on sleeve in the best sense of the word. All is rounded off with a rousing "Midsummer Night Vigil" by Alfvén in a rare performance from Malmö.

The recordings have been sprucely cleaned up although they suffer from some opaque sound in places. Notes and presentation are up to the usual Guild standards so one really cannot but wholeheartedly recommend this excellent disc which is a must for historical buffs.

Copyright © 2010, Gerald Fenech.