Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review

The Golden Age of Light Music

Great British Light Orchestras

  • Joyce Cochrane, arr. Farnon: Honey Child – Queen's Hall Light Orchestra/Robert Farnon
  • Raphael: Gypsy Fiddler – Ray Martin & His Concert Orchestra
  • Linda, Zaldiver: Carnavalito – Cyril Stapleton & His Orchestra
  • Clive Richardson: Romantic Interlude – Charles Williams & His Concert Orchestra
  • Ray Martin: Magic Circles – Geraldo & His New Concert Orchestra
  • Traditional: Oh Dear What Can The Matter Be – Frank Cordell & His Orchestra
  • Eric Coates: Television March – London Symphony Orchestra/Eric Coates
  • Paul Ferrao: April in Portugal – Norrie Paramor & His Orchestra
  • Traditional: Cactus Polka – Mayfair Orchestra/Walter Goehr
  • Amy Woodforde-Finden: Kashmiri Song – Mantovani & His Concert Orchestra
  • Edy Mers: Rainbow Run – Ron Goodwin & His Concert Orchestra
  • Frank Chacksfield: Prelude To A Memory – Frank Chacksfield & His Orchestra
  • Robert Farnon: Goodwood Galop – Queen's Hall Light Orchestra/Robert Farnon
  • Edward White: The Roundabout – New Concert Orchestra/Jack Leon
  • George Melachrino: Spring Morning – Melachrino Orchestra/George Melachrino
  • Antonín Dvořák: Songs My Mother Taught Me – Peter Yorke & His Concert Orchestra
  • Victor Schertzinger: Sand In My Shoes – Robert Farnon & His Orchestra
  • Chandler, White, Cohen: Canadian Capers – Sidney Torch & His Orchestra
  • Henry Croudson: Rhapsody In Rhythm – Louis Voss & His Orchestra
  • Robert Vollstedt: The Jolly Brothers – Ron Goodwin & His Concert Orchestra
  • Karger, Wells: From Here To Eternity – Stanley Black & His Orchestra
  • David Rose: Parade Of The Clowns – Charles Williams & His Concert Orchestra
  • Reginald King: One Summer Day – Harmonic Orchestra/Hans May
  • Joe Rixner: Ragamuffin – Philip Green & His Orchestra
  • José Padilla: Valencia – Edmundo Ros & His Orchestra
  • Richard Rodgers – arr. Torch: "Oklahoma!" Selection I Cain't Say No, Oh What A Beautiful Mornin', People Will Say We're In Love, Surrey With The Fringe On Top, Out Of My Dreams, Oklahoma! – Sidney Torch & His Orchestra
Guild Light Music GLCD5104 70m ADD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from ArkivMusic.comFind it at CD Universe

This is the fourth volume in what is turning out to be a real winner for the Guild labels' Light Music Series. The seventy odd minute collection contains a wide spectrum of works with the leading exponents of the genre such as George Melachrino, Sidney Torch, Robert Farnon and Charles Williams alongside many others.

There are many popular favourites here including a delightful 'Television March' by Eric Coates, the wonderful Kashmiri Song with Mantovani and a raucous medley from the musical, 'Oklahoma'. Other interesting names included Robert Farnon who conducts Cochrane's 'Honey Child' with suitable panache throughout. I already possess Schertzinger's 'Sand in My Shoes' with Farnon from an earlier album on Dutton but this Guild version is slightly more translucent.

Further interesting items include 'Valencia' by Edmundo Ros and his orchestra, a lovely and evocative 'Spring Morning' by George Melachrino and a rousing 'Television March' by Eric Coates. The disc concludes with a wonderful medley from 'Oklahoma', surely the right tonic to what is really a wonderful disc. Guild's remastering is really excellent with just the right balance between reducing the surface noise and retaining truthful sonics of these recordings. I just can't wait for more releases in this series!

Copyright © 2004, Gerald Fenech