Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review

Percy Grainger

Rambles and Reflections

Piano Transcriptions
  • Charles Villiers Stanford: Irish Dances, Op. 89
  • Cyril Scott: Handelian Rhapsody
  • Frederick Delius: Air and Dance
  • Gabriel Fauré:
  • Après un rêve, Op. 7 #1
  • Nell, Op. 18 #1
  • George Frideric Handel: Water Music, HWV 348-350 "Hornpipe"
  • George Gershwin:
  • Goldwyn Follies: Love walked in
  • Lady, be Good: The man I love
  • Johannes Brahms: Song, Op. 49 #4 "Wiegenlied"
  • Traditional: Beautiful Fresh Flower
  • William Byrd: The Carman's Whistle, MB 36
  • Percy Grainger:
  • Paraphrase on Tchaikovsky's Waltz of the Flowers
  • Tribute to Foster: Lullaby
  • John Dowland: Firste Booke of Songes: #6 "Now, o now, I needs must part"
  • Richard Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier, Op. 59 - Mir ist…"Rose Presentation"
Piers Lane, piano
Hyperion CDA67279 75m DDD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from ArkivMusic.comFind it at CD Universe

This is another of those delightful Grainger discs that are so indelibly permeated with style and vigour and that show the composer's penchant for transcribing such a vast wealth of material.

The pieces recorded here range from the early excesses of John Dowland onto the more popularised folk tunes by Delius, Stanford and even Tchaikovsky. What one notices in practically each piece is the arranger's style and mastery in transforming tunes that become so much more suited to the piano virtuoso. In this respect, Grainger certainly finds an indelibly faultless exponent in the shape of Piers Lane, another Australian virtuoso who is thoroughly enjoying himself.

The two Gershwin songs included here are also gems of their time and the loving piano transcription is a simple example of Grainger's ability as transcriber. Other pieces by Handel, Faure' and Brahms take on similar beauty. An ideal way to pass a hot summer evening then!

Copyright © 2002, Gerald Fenech