Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review

El siglo de oro

Spanish Sacred Music of the Renaissance

  • Tomás Luis de Victoria:
  • Salve Regina
  • O sacrum convivium
  • O Ildephonse
  • Duo seraphim clamabant
  • Quam pulchri sunt Gressus tui
  • Magnificat
  • Super flumina Babylonis
  • Domine non sum dignus
  • Beati Immaculati
  • Sancta Maria
  • O sacrum convivium
  • Senex puerum Portavit
  • Ave Maria
  • Francisco Guerrero:
  • O domine, Jesu Christe
  • Salve regina
  • Ave virgo sanctissima
  • Magnificat
  • Alonso Lobo: O quam suavis
  • Juan Esquivel Barahona: Veni domine, et noli tardare
  • Rodrigo de Ceballos: Hortus conclusus
  • Cristóbal de Morales: O crux, ave, spes unica
  • Sebastian de Vivanco: Stabat Mater
  • Juan Pujol: Laudate dominum
  • Juan Navarro: In passione positus
  • Juan de Castro: Angelus ad pastores ait
The London Cornett & Sackbut Ensemble
Pro Cantione Antiqua/Bruno Turner
Teldec Das Alte Werk 2564-69646-0 122m 2CDs ADD (Rec in 1978)
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon Japan

Reading Bruno Turner's informative booklet notes, one is immediately aware that this double album is intended as a tribute to the greatness of Tomás Luis de Victoria together with some of his less well known contemporaries.

Victoria's music surely needs no introduction and here we have some of his more famous motets, including the impressive, "Super flumina Baylonis" and the popular "Salve Regina", an 11-minute tour de force of outstanding choral work. But the other composers represented here are also worthy of note, especially the underrated Alonso Lobo whose "O quam suavis est" features some striking polyphony.

The 1978 recording is excellent and the varied capabilities of the London Cornet and Sackbut Ensemble are well matched with the Pro Cantione Antiqua who are both directed with style and panache by Turner. This is a fine compendium of the best Spanish Renaissance music available which is surely attractive for those wishing to dip into this repertoire.

Copyright © 2008 by Gerald Fenech