Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review

The Maverick Conductor

  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • Christmas Oratorio, BWV 248: #10 - Sinfonia in G Major
  • English Suite #2 in A minor, BWV 807 - Bourée I & II
  • Fugue "Little" in G minor, BWV 578
  • Komm, süsser Tod, komm, sel'ge Ruh'!, BWV 478
  • Mein Jesu, was für Seelenweh, BWV 487
  • Partita #1 in B minor, BWV 1002 - Sarabande
  • Partita #3 in E Major, BWV 1006 - Prelude
  • Passacaglia in C minor, BWV 582
  • Suite for Orchestra #3 in D Major, BWV 1068: Air
  • Toccata & Fugue in D minor, BWV 565
  • Maurice Ravel:
  • Miroirs: Alborada del gracioso 3
  • Rapsodie espagnole 2
  • Modest Mussorgsky: Pictures at an exhibition &ndash
  • #15, The Hut on Fowl's Legs "Baba Yaga"
  • #16, The Great Gate of Kiev
  • Claude Debussy:
  • Images for Orchestra: #2, Ibéria 3
  • Nocturnes for Orchestra 2
  • Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune
  • Suite bergamasque - Clair de Lune
  • Dmitri Shostakovich:
  • Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District, Op. 29 - Entr'acte 1
  • Prelude in E Flat minor, Op. 34 #14 - Adagio 1
  • Symphony #1 in F minor, Op. 10 1
  • Symphony #11 in G minor, Op. 103 "Year 1905"5
  • Igor Stravinsky:
  • Firebird Suite 6
  • Pétrouchka - Suite 6
  • Jean Sibelius:
  • Finlandia, Op. 26
  • Lemminkäinen Suite, Op. 22 - #3, Swan of Tuonela
  • Aram Khachaturian: Symphony #2 1
  • Arnold Schoenberg: Verklärte Nacht for String Orchestra, Op. 4
  • Béla Bartók: Music for Strings, Percussion & Celesta, Sz 106
  • Carl Orff: Carmina burana 5
  • Charles Martin Loeffler: A Pagan Poem, Op. 14
  • Ernest Bloch: Schelomo 1*
  • Frank Martin: Petite Symphonie Concertante
  • Giovanni Gabrieli: Sacrae symphoniae, Book 1 - Sonata pian e forte alla quarta bassa 1
  • Giovanni Palestrina: Adoramus te Christe 1
  • Girolamo Frescobaldi: Gagliarda 1
  • Gustav Holst: The Planets, Op. 32 4
  • Jacques Ibert: Escales 3
  • Harold Farberman: Evolution - Part 1
  • Joaquin Turina: La oración del torero, Op. 34 3
  • Ottorino Respighi: Pines of Rome 1
  • Paul Dukas: La péri - Fanfare
  • Piotr Ilyitch Tchaikovsky: Symphony #4 in F minor, Op. 36 - Scherzo
  • Pietro Antonio Cesti: Tu mancavi a tormentarmi, crudelissima speranza 1
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams: Symphony #8 in D minor - Scherzo
  • Reinhold Gliere: Symphony #3 in B minor, "Ilya Muromets" Op. 42 3
  • Richard Strauss: Suite for 13 Winds in B Flat Major, Op. 4 - Gavotte
  • Samuel Barber: Adagio for Strings, Op. 11
  • Vincent Persichetti: Divertimento for Band, Op. 42 - March
* George Neikrug, cello
Stokowski Symphony Orchestra/Leopold Stokowski
1 Symphony of the Air/Leopold Stokowski
2 London Symphony Orchestra/Leopold Stokowski
3 Orchestre National de la Radiodiffusion Française/Leopold Stokowski
4 Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra/Leopold Stokowski
5 Houston Symphony Orchestra/Leopold Stokowski
6 Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra/Leopold Stokowski
EMI 6-98555-2 10CDs
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from ArkivMusic.comFind it at CD Universe Find it at JPC

I am not about to list the contents of all of these discs because they cover eleven pages of the insert notes while the essay about him by Raymond Holden is only five. All of these discs have been previously released on individual EMI discs including the Symphony of the Air recordings. About the only exception is that for some reason EMI didn't include the Rachmaninoff Symphony #3 (certainly one of the finest recordings Stokowski ever made) and the material taken from Pye Records. If you already have those discs then this set may be an unnecessary duplication since I note no difference in the sound. This is too bad because listening to the improvements Cala did with the Symphony of the Air recordings proves that they aren't as bass deficient as heard on the original LPs and these CDs. On the other hand I have two reasons to purchase the set.

First, as a gift. I sent a set to my son as a Winter Solstice gift this year (2009). He is going to hear one of the finest Carmina Burana recordings and the finest Shostakovich 11ths ever. He will also have an excellent selection of Bach transcriptions and Aram Khachaturian's Symphony #2 "The Bell".

Second, the contents of the set have been, in most cases, differently coupled. For example, disc two: Bartók's Music for Strings Percussion & Celesta, Ibert's Escales, Martin's Petite Symphonie concertante, Farberman's Evolution – Part one and finally Persichetti's Divertimento for band. What a pleasant evening's music this offers in sound that is consistently fine despite different recording dates. Shostakovich's 11th Symphony The Year 1905 is now appropriately coupled with Barber's Adagio in the finest recording of the piece ever made. So, there is some reason to add this to your collection.

That's all folks…

Copyright © 2010, Robert Stumpf II