Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review

The Golden Age of Light Music

Joyousness - The Music of Haydn Wood

  • Horse Guards - Whitehall (from "London Landmarks" Suite) - Orchestre Raymonde/Robert Preston
  • Joyousness - Concert Waltz (from "Moods" Suite) - Light Symphony Orchestra/Haydn Wood
  • Laughing Cavalier - New Concert Orchestra/Jack Leon
  • Longing - London Palladium Orchestra/Richard Crean
  • Roses Of Picardy - Peter Yorke and His Concert Orchestra
  • Seville (from "Cities of Romance" Suite) - BBC Variety Orchestra/Charles Shadwell
  • The Seafarer - A Nautical Rhapsody Intro: Hulla Balloo Balay, Rio Grande, Leave Her Johnnie Leave Her, Drunken Sailor, Shenandoah, When Johnnie Comes Down To Hilo, Roving - Charles Williams and His Concert Orchestra
  • Montmartre (from "Paris" Suite) - Debroy Somers Band
  • Nelson's Column - Overture (from "London Landmarks" Suite) - Queen's Hall Light Orchestra/Charles Williams
  • Soliloquy - Queen's Hall Light Orchestra/Robert Farnon
  • Homage March - Light Symphony Orchestra/Haydn Wood
  • Bird Of Love Divine - London Palladium Orchestra/Richard Crean
  • Vienna (from "Frescoes" Suite) - New Concert Orchestra/Serge Krish
  • Mannin Veen (Dear Isle Of Man) - Light Symphony Orchestra/Haydn Wood
  • Caprice (from "Moods" Suite) - Queen's Hall Light Orchestra/Charles Williams
  • Tower Hill (from "London Landmarks" Suite) (Haydn Wood - Queen's Hall Light Orchestra/Charles Williams
  • I Hear You Calling Me (Charles Marshall arr. Haydn Wood) - London Palladium Orchestra/Richard Crean
  • Torch Of Freedom - Grand March - New Concert Orchestra/Jack Leon
  • Stanford Rhapsody - Debroy Somers Band
Guild Light Music GLCD5121 78m ADD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon JapanOrder Now from ArkivMusic.comFind it at CD Universe

Haydn Wood has always been one of my favourite Light Music composers ever since I discovered his music on those legendary Marco Polo Light Music CDs in the early 90's. Works such as 'Mannin Veen', 'Horse Guards – Whitehall', 'A Nautical Rhapsody' and others demonstrated the gift and facility for melody that permeates this talented composer's music.

This CD is particularly valuable for it preserves a host of Haydn Wood's original interpretations alongside such luminaries as Robert Farnon, Charles Williams and Jack Leon. The Debroy Somers band turn out a smashing interpretation of Wood's 'Stanford Rhapsody' with the smaller items such as the legendary 'Roses of Picardy', 'Montmartre' and "Vienna' also coming out quite magically.

One really could not ask for more when such beauty is on offer and with David Ades' stunning notes, the disc becomes a true essential item for all Light Music collectors. This release is highly recommended for all lovers of this genre and a deserved resurgence for this fine composer.

Copyright © 2006, Gerald Fenech