Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Winter 2018/2019?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

SACD Review

Emma Bell Sings

  • Bruno Walter:
  • Tragodie I, II & III
  • Des Kindes Schiaf
  • Die Lerche
  • Elfe
  • Waltraut's Lied I & II
  • Liebeslust
  • Joseph Marx:
  • Hat Dich die Liebe Berurht
  • Ein Drangen Ist In Meinem Herzen
  • Traumgekront
  • Und Gestern Hat Er Mir Rosen Gebracht
  • Richard Strauss:
  • Mädchenblumen Op. 22
  • Kornblumen
  • Mohnblumen
  • Ephey
  • Wasserrose
  • Freundliche Vision Op. 48 #1
  • Das Rosenband Op. 36 #1
  • Nachtgang Op. 29 #3
  • Muttertändelei Op. 43 #2
  • Hat Gesagt-Bleibt's Nicht Dabei Op. 36 #3
  • Du Meines Herzens Krönelein Op. 21 #2
  • Traum Durch Die Dammerung Op. 29 #1
  • Schlechtes Wetter Op. 69 #5
Emma Bell, soprano
Andrew West, piano
Linn CKD238 Hybrid SACD recorded at Potton Hall April 2004 59mins
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon Japan

Bruno Walter had diminishing time for composing as his conducting career took over, but he was married to a singer and these songs are fine examples of the lieder genre which would grace any recital. Joseph Marx (1882-1964) who composed some 120 songs mainly around 1910, including settings of poems in Heyse's Italienische Liederbuch which Wolf omitted; Hat Dich die Liebe Berurht is one of those.

Emma Bell's selection demonstrates that Marx does not deserve the near oblivion which has been his fate. The Strauss groups too, whilst including Traum Durch Die Dammerung and Schlechtes Wetter, have many which will be less familiar.

A commendable new disc of intriguing repertoire, well grouped between the three composers, which has this young British soprano in mellifluous voice. She has a creamy tone, comfortable throughout her wide range, and impeccable diction. Andrew West's playing is alert and responsive and perfectly balanced. Full texts and parallel translations, printed clearly for easy reading are also included. One of the best vocal records of the year.

Copyright © 2005, Peter Grahame Woolf